Learn here how to delete assets by moving them to the Trash. Users can only delete assets if they have permission to do so. Once moved to the trash, the assets will remain in the trash folder for a designated period of time configured by the system administrator, ensuring that you have the ability to restore deleted assets if you wish to.
How to delete assets
-
Select your asset(s) by either:
- Asset pane: Drag and select one or many assets in the asset pane
- Asset viewer: select the 3 dot menu
- Child assets of the open asset: Drag and select an asset
- Folder: Right click a folder
-
Select Delete.

-
In the confirmation dialog, review the items to be moved to the Trash (you can remove an item from the list with its remove icon), tick the confirmation checkbox, then select Trash. Otherwise, select Cancel. To delete the items permanently instead of moving them to the Trash, tick Delete assets immediately. Items deleted this way can't be recovered.

-
Your assets/folders will be trashed.
-
Navigate to Trash and you will see the removed assets/folders in this folder.
-
Items in the Trash will be removed once they surpass the configured purge date.
Curator 4.4 and later: if an asset in the Trash can't be deleted when its purge date is reached, it stays in the Trash and its delete date is moved 30 days later, instead of being restored. Administrators can change the number of days with the DeleteRetryDays key on the DELETE-ASSET media store; set it to 0 or less to restore the previous behaviour.